SSL Validation Types

Published by admin on

There are four possible types of validation when ordering a SSL certificate. We’re giving you a brief overview of what they are:

1. E-Mail Validation
2. Domain and
3. Organization validation
4. Extended Validation

So what is email Email Validation?

For Individuals there is the option to validate a single email address only. Certum provides these types of certificates where they send an email and you need to click on a verification link to verify that you are the owner of the email address.

The basic level of validation is done by domain verifications. The SSL certificate is issued on the basis of the domain name ownership. The procedure can rely on data which appears in publically accessible domain name databases (WHOIS) or by sending an authorization request to an e-mail address in that domain name.

SSL Certificates that require organization validation will display the identity of a website owner. Verification is carried out on the basis of documents as submitted by the applicant. Those documents should confirm the ownership of the domain name and the right to represent an organization.

The highest level of validation is provided by ssl certificates with extended validation. Your certificate application is sent to the Certification Authority. They make thorough checks of your organization. You will need to provide documents that confirm the domain name ownership and credibility of your company or organization. The issued certificate will then show data confirming the identity of the site owner. The green browser address bar distinguishes websites verified by extended validation also known as EV.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: